The 25th Anniversary Quiksilver in memory of Eddi Aikau

The 25th Anniversary Quiksilver in Memory of Eddi Aikau

Waimea Bay, HAWAII, November 17, 2009 - launches today with the announcement of the 28 coveted Invitees and 24 Alternates to this year’s 25th Anniversary celebration of The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy.

The event will be held on one day, between December 1, 2009 and February 28, 2010, when waves exceed the 20‐foot minimum threshold and Invitees contend for the $98K prize purse. The traditional opening ceremony honoring this silver anniversary will be one to remember, taking place at 2pm, December 3rd, 2009, at Waimea Bay.


Andy Irons, Hawaii Kala Alexander, Hawaii Aikau Family Pick
Brian Keaulana, Hawaii Pancho Sullivan, Hawaii
Brock Little, Hawaii Garrett McNamara, Hawaii
Bruce Irons, Hawaii Kohl Christensen, Hawaii
Carlos Burle, Brazil Dave Wassel, Hawaii
Clyde Aikau, Hawaii Keoni Watson, Hawaii
Darryl Virostko, California Nathan Fletcher, Hawaii
Greg Long, California Ian Walsh, Hawaii
Jamie O’Brien, Hawaii Danny Fuller, Hawaii
Jamie Sterling, Hawaii Kalani Chapman, Hawaii
Kelly Slater, Florida Taylor Knox, California
Keone Downing, Hawaii Chava Greenlee, Hawaii
Makuakai Rothman, Hawaii Jamie Mitchell, Australia
Mark Healey, Hawaii Myles Padaca, Hawaii
Michael Ho, Hawaii Tony Moniz, Hawaii
Noah Johnson, Hawaii Darrick Doerner, Hawaii
Peter Mel, California Ken ‘Skin Dog’ Collins, California
Reef McIntosh, Hawaii Ross Williams, Hawaii
Ross Clarke‐Jones, Australia Derek Ho, Hawaii
Rusty Keaulana, Hawaii Paul Paterson, Australia
Shane Dorian, Hawaii Anthony Tashnick, California
Sunny Garcia, Hawaii Koby Abberton, Australia
Titus Kinimaka, Hawaii Laurent Pujol, France
Tom Carroll, Australia Laurie Towner, Australia
Grant “Twiggy” Baker, South Africa
Ibon Amatriain, Euskadi HONORARY INVITEES
Ramon Navarro, Chile Mark Foo, Hawaii Todd Chesser, Hawaii
Takayuki Wakita, Japan Tiger Espere, Hawaii Jay Moriarity, California
Peter Davi, California Lester Falatea, Tahiti

Monster Energy will be presenting the Monster Drop Specialty Award for the surfer who makes the most critical drop and rides out of it during the event. The judges will determine the winner the day of the competition and will present the chosen surfer with a unique Monster Drop Specialty Award Trophy.

Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau gathers the most skillful and dynamic big‐wave surfers from around the globe. It is the world's longest running and most prestigious big‐wave invitational.

The universal appeal and strength of "The Eddie" is a testament to the human spirit it honors and that we all seek to connect with: a life lived with passion, dedicated with meaning, and exited from heroically. Just 31 when he lost his life in an attempt to save others, Aikau has physically been gone now for as long as he was here. But far from being forgotten, his life story is now woven into the fabric of Hawaii.


The Eddie has only run seven times in the past 24 years. You don’t want to miss it when the Bay calls the momentous day. Go to for swell updates, happenings from the North Shore, and to sign up for text alerts, to make sure you’re the first to know when the Bay calls the day!**

Jeff Johannson

This site uses cookies, learn more in our Privacy Policy.