Credit:  © ASP / SCHOLTZ |

Second Lay Day Called for Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach

Possible Restart Tomorrow

BELLS BEACH, Victoria/Australia (Thursday, April 1, 2010) – Decreased surf and onshore winds have prompted event organizers at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach to call competition off for the second day in a row, but a possible bump in swell projected for tomorrow could see the world’s best surfers back in the water.

The second stop on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by SNICKERS has yet to commence, but the greatest assemblage of surfing talent in history is poised and ready to do battle amongst Victoria’s iconic breaks.

The Rip Curl Women’s Pro presented Ford Fiesta, Stop No. 2 on the 2010 ASP Women’s World Tour, completed the opening two rounds of competition on Tuesday, and will look to get Round 3 underway when competition resumes.

“The surf is a bit smaller today and we’ve called both men’s and women’s competition off,” Damien Hardman, Rip Curl Pro Contest Director, said. “We’re expecting a little bump in size tomorrow so we’ll be back at 7:30am to assess conditions for a possible start.”

When Rip Curl Women’s Pro competition resumes, up first will be Coco Ho (HAW), 18, and Lee Ann Curren (FRA), 20, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7:30am for a possible 8am start.

Highlights from Tuesday’s Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach presented by Ford Fiesta will be available via

For more information, log onto


Heat 1: Coco Ho (HAW) vs. Lee Ann Curren (FRA)

Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) vs. Carissa Moore (HAW)

Heat 3: Rebecca Woods (AUS) vs. Paige Hareb (NZL)

Heat 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Tyler Wright (AUS)

Heat 5: Silvana Lima (BRA) vs. Nikita Robb (ZAF)

Heat 6: Chelsea Hedges (AUS) vs. Rosanne Hodge (ZAF)

Heat 7: Melanie Bartels (HAW) vs. Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)

Heat 8: Sofia Mulanovich (PER) vs. Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)


Heat 1: Dane Reynolds (USA), Andy Irons (HAW), Nate Yeomans (USA)

Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Tanner Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 4: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Mick Campbell (AUS), Marco Polo (BRA)

Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Blake Thornton (AUS)

Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS), Neco Padaratz (BRA)

Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS)

Heat 9: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA)

Heat 10: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Robertson (AUS)

Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Jay Thompson (AUS)

Heat 12: Taylor Knox (USA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 13: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Brett Simpson (AUS)

Heat 14: Kieren Perrow (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Heat 15: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Owen Wright (AUS), Drew Courtney (AUS)

Heat 16: Dean Morrison (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS), Roy Powers (HAW)

Jeff Johannson

This site uses cookies, learn more in our Privacy Policy.