Credit: © ASP / SCHOLTZ

Billabong Santa Catarina Pro Round 3 Match Ups

Probable Restart Tomorrow

PRAIA DA VILA, Santa Catarina/Brazil (Tuesday, April 27, 2010) – Onshore winds and small surf in the one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) range at Praia da Vila this morning prompted event organizers to call another lay day for the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina.

The third stop on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina has completed the opening two rounds of competition, and with swell projected for the coming days, the world’s best surfers will likely return to the singlet tomorrow.

“We went on hold this morning for a few hours but the wind and swell hasn’t cooperated,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “Competition is off for the day but tomorrow and Thursday are looking good. We’ll be back tomorrow morning at 7am.”

When competition resumes, up first will be current ASP World No. 4 Bobby Martinez (USA), 27, against Luke Munro (AUS), 27, in the opening heat of Round 2.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

ASP International and Billabong apologize for the issues will live streaming during the first two rounds of competition. Our technicians are rapidly working at resolving the issue and hope to have it resolved by the start of Round 3. We thank you for your patience.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina will be available via


Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)

Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)

Heat 3: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 6: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)

Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Tom Whitaker (AUS)

Heat 8: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)

Heat 10: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)

Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)

Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 14: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)

Heat 15: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)

Heat 16: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)

Jeff Johannson

This site uses cookies, learn more in our Privacy Policy.